Friday, February 3, 2023
Home news There is a "Crash Tax" of $950? The Report Card for New...

There is a “Crash Tax” of $950? The Report Card for New Jersey’s Traffic Legislation

According to a report by Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety released on Tuesday, New Jersey could do more to promote road safety by implementing speed cameras and adding limitations for young drivers.

New Jersey received a “warning” score in the group’s 2023 Roadmap to Safety, along with dozens of other states, since it does not have several of the group’s suggested regulations on the books.

Read moreBig News from Dale Earnhardt Jr: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Reveals the Oddest Thing He’s Ever Been Issued!

Nearly 43,000 people were killed in car accidents in the United States in 2021, according to the data. This represented an increase of 10.5% from the previous year.

Each year, auto accidents cost the economy $314 billion, as reported by the advocacy group Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety.

According to Cathy Chase, president of the advocacy group Advocates, “this translates to a crash tax of roughly $950 for every person residing in the U.S.” Policymakers at all levels of government ought to heed this gruesome toll and do something to stop the growing trend.
buy grifulvin online buy grifulvin online no prescription

According to the New Jersey State Police, there were nearly 700 traffic fatalities in the state of New Jersey in 2021, up from 587 in 2020.

Read moreBoom! Destroying a Polluting Coal-Fired Power Plant Should Usher in A More Sustainable Energy Future!

New Jersey’s roadways have claimed the lives of 648 individuals in 2022 as of Tuesday morning.

Automated speed cameras were included in Advocates’ suggested methods for motorist safety for the first time in 20 years.
buy antabuse online buy antabuse online no prescription

The report gave New Jersey a failing grade because of the state’s ban on speed cameras.

A total of 19 of the 50 states in the US make use of automated enforcement, and its usage is legal in nearly all of them.

In the study, it is mentioned that New Jersey is one of the states that allows children under the age of 13 to ride in the front passenger seat.

The organization is advocating for a change in state law that would require children under 12 to sit in the back of a vehicle at all times.

There aren’t enough protections in place for new and young drivers in Garden State, according to the research.

The report praises New Jersey for allowing front seat belt use as a justification for a traffic stop but criticizes the state for not extending the same protection to passengers in the back.

Read moreMachines Stocked with Cake Boss Treats Have Been Installed in Rest Areas in New Jersey

When it comes to driving while intoxicated, New Jersey did exceptionally well. The state has legislation in place that makes it illegal to have any open alcoholic beverages in a moving car and requires ignition interlock devices for all drivers convicted of drunk driving.

New Jersey also mandates the use of booster seats for children who have outgrown their safety seats before they are old enough to use the vehicle’s seat belt properly in the back seat. Texting or reading a message while driving is also illegal in the state.

Avatar photo
Sapna Palhttp://newjerseylocalnews.com
Hello viewers, My self sapna. I am a content writer. I have more than 5 years of experience in content writing and from my work experience now I am writing great content related to local news of new jersey and entertainment on my website newjerseylocalnews.com.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular