This article describes how to deactivate, reactivate, and delete Snapchat accounts permanently.
How to Deactivate and Delete Your Snapchat Account
You won’t find any instructions on how to delete your Snapchat account within the Snapchat mobile app’s settings. It is possible to delete a Snap account, but you must use a web browser to do so.
- Navigate to Snapchat in a web browser and sign into your Snapchat account.
Under Manage My Account, select Delete My Account.
Enter your login details in the fields on the following page and select Continue.
On the next page, you’ll receive a message stating your account is in the process of being deactivated.How to Reactivate Your Snapchat Accoun
You can always reactivate your Snapchat account within 30 days of deactivating it if you change your mind about deleting it. Sign in with your Snapchat username (not your email address) and password via the app or website to reactivate your account.
If you recently deactivated your account and are attempting to reactivate it, you may be required to wait up to 24 hours until the deactivation process is complete (according to Snapchat).
If you verified your email address on your account, you should receive an email when your account is deactivated successfully. Sign in to your account to reactivate it after receiving this message.
Why Deactivate or Delete a Snapchat Account?
You might want to deactivate, then delete your Snapchat account if:
- You no longer snap or chat with friends, open snaps or chats from friends, post stories, or view friends’ stories.
- You want to change your Snapchat username.
- You have too many friends and want to start over with a fresh account, rather than going through them all and deleting them.
- You want to quit using Snapchat due to loss of interest, unpleasant experiences, a long-term digital detox, a change in priorities, etc.