Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomenewsSeveral New York Counties Have Declared a State of Emergency Due to...

Several New York Counties Have Declared a State of Emergency Due to the Nor’easter

A late-season Nor’easter is predicted to bring heavy, wet snow and other difficult conditions to the Northeast, thus Governor Kathy Hochul of New York has proclaimed a state of emergency.

Hochul issued a statement on Monday, March 13, warning New Yorkers to get ready for a multi-day event that, according to the National Weather Service, may bring more than a foot of snow to parts of the Hudson Valley and Capital Region.

“We have engaged the National Guard to assist with disaster response and state agencies spent the weekend preparing emergency response assets,” Hochul said.

“I urge New Yorkers in affected regions to stay home and avoid any unnecessary travel to allow plow personnel to perform their job, as this storm will cause hazardous road conditions into Wednesday morning.”

What Food Makes You Gain Weight the Fastest?

According to the National Weather Service, the storm is likely to hit somewhere between Monday night (March 13) and Wednesday morning (March 15).

On Monday, much of the Northeast can expect rain and rain mixed with snow from the Nor’easter, followed by all snow by Monday night. Showers will persist intermittently through Wednesday morning.

The National Weather Service predicts that areas north of Interstate 84 could receive between 8 and 18 inches of snow. Lightning is possible, and winds as up to 45 miles per hour might knock out electricity.

The governor’s office predicts that New York City and Long Island will get up to two inches of snow, but will largely get rain, which might lead to moderate coastal flooding.

Tuesday morning and evening trips should be avoided if possible due to the hazardous road conditions. Motorists were urged to stay off the roads unless absolutely necessary, to have fully charged phones, and to stock up on food, water, and emergency supplies.

At 8 p.m. on Monday, March 13, the counties listed below will enter a state of emergency.

  • Albany
  • Broome
  • Cayuga
  • Chenango
  • Columbia
  • Cortland
  • Delaware
  • Dutchess
  • Essex
  • Fulton
  • Greene
  • Hamilton
  • Herkimer
  • Lewis
  • Madison
  • Montgomery
  • Oneida
  • Onondaga,
  • Ontario
  • Orange
  • Oswego
  • Otsego
  • Putnam
  • Rensselaer \sSaratoga
  • Schenectady
  • Schoharie
  • Schuyler
  • Seneca
  • Sullivan
  • Tioga
  • Tompkins
  • Ulster,
  • Warren
  • Washington
  • Wayne
  • Yates

The following regulations for large commercial vehicles have been issued by the Department of Transportation:

  • Comprehensive length of Interstate 84. No empty or tandem tractor-trailers after 8 p.m.
  • Length of the Whole Interstate 88. No empty or tandem tractor-trailers after 8 p.m.
  • New York State Route I-87 (Northway) Between Albany and Plattsburgh. No empty or tandem tractor-trailers after 8 p.m.
  • To get to I-90 from I-87, take the Berkshire Spur exit. No empty or tandem tractor-trailers after 8 p.m.
  • You can go to Syracuse from Pittsburgh via I-81’s PA Line. Time: 8 PM; Trucks should take the right lane.
  • Middletown to Binghamton via State Road 17. Time: 8 pm; “Trucks Use Right Lane” sign posted.

Read moreTop 5 Ways to Fix Message Blocking is Active Error on Android and iPhone

Pedestrian Struck and Killed by a Hit-and-run Vehicle at a Bus Stop

New Jersey Rallies Around a Fatally Shot Officer from Deptford, and The Suspect Is Identified

Sapna Pal
Sapna Pal
Hello viewers, my self sapna. I am working as a content writer from last 5 years. In where i uptated fresh news of new jersey and some other area and provience of united state of america. For daily news of newjersey just visit my website


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular