Wednesday, February 8, 2023
Home news A 'Crash Tax' of $950? Give Report Card the New Jersey Traffic...

A ‘Crash Tax’ of $950? Give Report Card the New Jersey Traffic Safety Laws What’s This, a “Crash Tax” of $950?

According to a report released on Tuesday by Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety, New Jersey could do more to make its roadways safer by instituting measures like speed cameras and new limitations for teenage drivers.

New Jersey received a “warning” score on the group’s 2023 Roadmap to Safety, along with dozens of other states, because it lacks some of the group’s suggested policies. In 2021, approximately 43,000 people died in car accidents across the United States, a rise of 10.5% from the year before, according to recent government data. The yearly economic cost of motor vehicle accidents is $314 billion, say advocates for highway and auto safety.

According to Advocates’ president Cathy Chase, “this translates to a crash tax of approximately $950 for every person living in the U.S.” Policymakers at all levels of government ought to heed this gruesome toll and do something to stop the trend.

According to data gathered by the New Jersey State Police, the number of fatalities on the state’s roadways increased to nearly 700 in 2021, from 587 in 2020. New Jersey’s roadways have claimed the lives of 648 individuals in 2022 as of Tuesday morning.
buy udenafil online https://sandraselmafarmacias.com/wp-content/maintenance/assets/fonts/woff/udenafil.html no prescription

The use of automated speed cameras as a recommended method of maintaining driver safety was included in the Advocates’ report for the first time in 20 years. According to the study, New Jersey‘s low score is due in part to the state’s ban on speed cameras. According to the study, 19 of the 50 states in the United States already deploy automated enforcement.

Read More: After a Two-Year Pause, the New Jersey Appellate Division Reinstated the State’s Bear Hunt

The research notes that New Jersey is one of 49 states that allows children under the age of 13 to ride in the front passenger seat. The organization is lobbying for a change in state law that would require children under 12 to sit in the rear of a vehicle at all times.

The research notes that New Jersey is deficient in several areas related to the safety of young and inexperienced drivers. The report praises New Jersey for allowing front seat belt use as a justification for a traffic stop but criticizes the state for not extending the same protection to passengers in the back.
buy filitra online https://sandraselmafarmacias.com/wp-content/maintenance/assets/fonts/woff/filitra.html no prescription

Read More:  New Jersey Christmas Tree Farm Owner Recovers After Tornado; Others Keep Holiday Cheer Going

In every category of impaired driving, New Jersey performed well. A conviction for driving under the influence in this state will result in the installation of an ignition interlock device on the offender’s car and the prohibition of open containers of alcoholic beverages in the vehicle.

New Jersey also mandates the use of booster seats for children who have outgrown their original safety seats but are still too short to effectively use the seat belt in the backseat. Texting and reading texts while driving is also illegal in the state.

Avatar photo
Marissa Figgs
I write picture books, for middle grade, and young adults, some of which have won prizes, been filmed, or become bestsellers. I've ghostwritten for Pixar and developed teen work for Alloy Entertainment. I think heartfelt writing is the finest. It doesn't have to be personal, but it must be visceral. You want them riveted from the first word, page, or sentence, no matter how painful or unpleasant, and that's my expertise.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular